Author: Doodlebug, Doodlebug, Your House is on Fire

Wordsmith or Poet

I won third pace in the July, 2013 Aspiring Writers Short Story Contest for my poem:

 

            Wordsmith or Poet?

With writing novels I’ve had some luck

With poetry though my luck’s not much

 

With words that I try to make rhyme

I’m not so successful most of the time

 

My writing style will make you smile

My poetry turns your smile to a scowl

 

My novels usually have a surprise end

About my poetry you say, “Where’s he been?”

 

Bookstores sell my novels for 14.90

For my poetry they say kiss my hinny.

Comments on: "Wordsmith or Poet" (2)

  1. Congrats, Roy. Good to see colleagues win, and to see your poems are being published. It’s a challenge. I’m not a poet, but I did get runner up in an international competition for my story ‘Dragonflies and The Great Blue Heron’, published in an anthology now available on Amazon.com called, Tales2Inspire.

    • James,

      Glad your hand is almost well. Missed hearing from you. Be careful with those saws. I have a workshop and cut my thumb once, but not real bad.

      Thanks for the complement on my poem.

      William “Roy” Pipes

Leave a Reply

